Ridin’ the Bus

We moved.

Packing is the worst. Loading trucks is the worst. Hauling boxes is the worst. Moving is the worst.

The consolation, of course, is twofold. One, we moved out of Monroeville. Don’t get me wrong, our friends there are fantastic. But speaking realistically, is there anybody out there who would miss this?

10969527

That’s Monroeville, Y’all, and it’s fun. This is probably my favorite photo ever. That’s the McDonald’s where you can watch the employees twerk and grind while you wait for your food. Look at the car with one headlight! Look at the friggen sky! Why does everything look wet? This photo is real, folks! It’s real! In a strange part of my mind I imagine locals framing pictures like this and hanging them in their living rooms so they can use them to play depressing games of I Spy with their children. “I spy something dark and deep that eats car tires, yum, yum, yum!”

The other upside to moving is that we moved to Virginia. Charlottesville, Virginia–the academic heartland of the state, TJ’s (Thomas Jefferson’s) home, all that good stuff. It’s beautiful. I’m pretty excited. Katie is too. And truth be told, we’re actually a little closer to Rhode Island here than we were in PA.

j
Photo from http://www.huffingtonpost.com

So this is where we are now. The last week and a half have been filled with cardboard boxes and a playful/pretend version of organization. And at least we finally have internet Netflix after going for a week without.

Katie has begun her second year of teaching, now as a special educator for Louisa County Public Schools. Although it’s a little bit of a commute from our home to her school, we’re both really excited for her new opportunity.

In a few weeks I will start my first classes in the electrical engineering doctoral program at UVA. Part of my job will include TAing undergrads . . . please pray for me.

While I wait for that day to come though, I’m getting a little bored. I should probably be using this time to brush up on my calculus and all that engineering-y stuff that I haven’t used for two years. But in reality, I’m just becoming a hobo.

The first step to hoboism was getting my student ID, which, like consuming alcohol, owning a firearm, or shooting webs from your wrists, came with great power and responsibility. Why? Because now I can ride the bus. Charlottesville has a pretty extensive system of these toothpaste-colored buses with mildly worrisome phrases on them like this:

cover-660x335-1389733332

Remind you of anything?

Breaking Bad - Catching Cat

So that’s what I do now while Katie has the car. It may take an hour to get to Walmart this way, but at least I can play spot-the-methead while I do it. And then of course I can continue my game in Walmart and on the way back.

Obviously I’m exaggerating just a little. I’ve had an awesome time exploring the local flavor of C’ville: the Corner, the Mall, the Grounds. I gotta say there is so much more to do here than in Monroeville, and it’s probably got a lot to do with the presence of the university. It occurred to me the other day that I’ve spent 19 years of my life closely associated with a college campus and 15 of those years actually living on a campus. Maybe I’m just predisposed to be more comfortable here.

I think Charlottesville is going to be a wonderful home for us for the next five years. To our friends and family, we’d love for you to come visit us if you’re in the area. As long as you don’t mind being shown around by a couple of people still discovering the area for themselves, we’ll have a grand old time.

 

2 thoughts on “Ridin’ the Bus

Leave a Reply

