2016: Let’s Try This Again

Happy New Year! 2015 was quite a year for us! I started my very first teaching job, we traveled to new places, visited family and friends, saw people we love get married and start lives together, and felt ourselves ease more into this little Pittsburgh life we are living. There were many moments of 2015 that I fully intended to share here. I will be the first to admit, I am full of good intentions – it is my follow through that needs some work.

This week has been the second week of my Christmas break from school, and during that time I have been thinking a lot about what celebrating the New Year entails. It is a time of friends and family. A time of reflection and resolutions and left over Christmas cookies. A time of feeling a little sad that the holidays are over, mixed with a dash of excitement and anxiety for what is to come in the next year. If I am being perfectly honest about those reflections and resolutions, though, I have mostly been reflecting on failing the resolutions I made last year. This blog was one of them, and we can all see how well that worked out. Honestly, I dislike making New Year resolutions. I think it is kind of silly to think that you must wait for the New Year to make a change or recommit to something you know you should be doing all along. Cause let’s get real, March is going to roll around and I am going to be sitting on my couch eating cookie dough ice cream out of the carton when I should be at the gym. I’ll be tempted to say “oh well, maybe next year,” when really I just need to put on my sneakers and go to the dang gym. (Sweats will obviously already be my attire.)

The only resolution I was even partially “successful” with last year was to exercise more and to have healthier habits. I will give credit where credit is due and say that Andrew’s stink eye when I skip the gym has served as some kind of incentive. All in all I do feel healthier and stronger now and a tad less guilty when I eat half a pan of brownies over the course of one weekend, so that’s something I guess.

I figure if I can continue with my current rate of being moderately successful with one resolution a year, this blog is bound to have its year eventually! I am recommitting myself to this blog as well as taking more pictures. I want to document my life better, even just for myself.

I am recommitting myself to read more often with a goal of one book per month. I did reasonably well with this at the beginning of last year, however, when school began, those good intentions went right out the window. Netflix may have been involved, too.

I am recommitting myself to procrastinating less, which is already off to a rocky start considering I go back to work on Monday and the pile of papers to grade is sitting in the bag I brought it home in, untouched. Oh well. This may not be procrastination’s year.

I could go on, but I am sure all that would get me is the topic for another blog post in April when I haven’t posted since today and will simply talk about the list of resolutions I’m not keeping up with. I do not measure the success of my year in my resolutions, although following through with something I commit to always feels good. My life is abundantly blessed, regardless of whether or not I always recognize it and certainly not because I deserve it. My lack of resolve in my resolutions just reminds me how many things do NOT hinge on me, but on God. He is good, always, and I am excited to see what He has instore for us in 2016. I truly promise to try to document our 2016 moments better here for those of you who wish to keep up with us. Full disclosure though: no promises.

Leave a Reply

